Author Archives: admin

We have pleasure in welcoming participants to the RSAC Three Lochs Classic. Once again we offer a warm welcome to all drivers and passengers, and we look forward to seeing old friends and newcomers alike.

For the eleventh year, the event will be based at the Royal Northern and Clyde Yacht Club at Rhu, which will again host the start, finish and the Concours d’Elegance. We are grateful to the
Committee, members and staff for allowing us to use their premises once again.

There will again be a “wee” route of around 45 miles suitable for cars in the Veteran class and any others whose drivers prefer it, and a “big” route of around 90 miles for everybody else. We are continuing to welcome entries from the owners of all cars built before 1982, and we look forward to seeing a good representation of cars from all eras

The route will again feature the old Rest and be Thankful road, by kind permission of the landowners Diane and Stephen Kinghorn. We were very sorry to learn of the death of Diane’s father Andrew Davidson earlier this year: he was a good friend to our events over the years, and the respect in which he was held by the old car movement was reflected in the number of clubs represented at his funeral.

We are also grateful to the Forestry Commission for allowing access to the”Rest”.

The event will again feature light-hearted “examinations” leading to the award of degrees by the
Automotive University of Rhu.

We look forward to receiving your entry and to seeing you on Saturday 8 August.

Regulations can be downloaded from here

Fifty nine cars have registered to take part in this year's Fleet Alliance RSAC Three Lochs Classic ranging from a 1909 Renault to 1981 Triumph TR7.

For the twelth year running, the cars will be lining up at the Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club in Rhu to set off at about 10am for a drive through Helensburgh, Glen Fruin, Rosneath, Arrochar, up the resurfaced Rest and Be Thankful (providing no landslips occur requiring its use as a relief road), before returning through Glen Douglas back to Rhu.

The cars will then be on prepared for a Concours D'Elegance and the competitors will have the option to take part in a light hearted quiz to earn a degree of Master of Automobilism of the Automotive University of Rhu.

Anyone wishing to view the cars is welcome to do so at any point along the route, but please ensure you abide by the Road Traffic Act. Anyone wishing to view the cars at the Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club should note that public parking is not available within the Club premises.

No. Entrant Home Town Car Year
1 A McDougall Bishopbriggs Ford Model T 1910
2 The Meek Family Lenzie Darracq TT13 1913
57 Hamish Wilson Hamilton Renault 8AX 1909
59 Richard Dover Glasgow Alldays & Onions 12/14 HP 1912
3 A Black Shandon Ford Model T 1922
58 David Gray Glasgow Delage Diss 1925
4 John M F Butler Dalmuir Austin 7 RW 1932
5 Roy O'Neil Helensburgh Austin Seven 1933
6 Alan Stuart Forbes Newton Mearns Bentley 3½ Litre 1935
7 Christopher Broom-Smth Dalry Bentley Derby 3½ Litre 1935
8 George Rome Kilmaurs MG SA Saloon 1936
9 A McDougall Bishopbriggs Alvis Speed 25 1938
10 Andy da Silva Bearsden Humber Super Snipe 1950
11 Linda Black Shandon Volkswagen Beetle 1951
12 Iain Nicolson Alva Austin A40 Somerset 1953
13 Gordon MacKay Dunblane Bentley R Type 1954
14 Hugh MacKinnon Houston Austin-Healey 100/4 1954
15 Hamish Dickie Glasgow Daimler Regency 104 1956
16 David Morgan Kilcreggan MG Magnette 1956
17 Robin Ord Dalry MGA Roadster 1959
18 Bill Ross Dundee Jaguar XK150 1959
19 Iain Work Kilcreggan MGA 1960
20 Dr Geoff Douglas Helensburgh Daimler SP250 1961
21 Andrew Paterson West Kilbride Jaguar E Type 1962
22 Bill Telford East Kilbride AC Cobra 289 1963
23 William Cuthbertson Loans Jaguar E Type 1963
24 Lloyd Henry Larbert USRRC Cobra 289 1964
25 Donald Brown Drymen Lotus 7 1964
26 Andrew Wiseman Helensburgh Morris 1000 Convertible 1965
27 Dave Bilyk Bonnybridge Ford GT40 1965
28 Alexander Stewart Milngavie Jaguar E Type 1961
56 Alex Black Shandon Morris Minor 1960
29 Terry Wise Dundee Jaguar E Type 1966
30 Donald Shedden Crosshouse MGB GT 1967
31 Roy O'Neil Helensburgh Morris Minor Traveller 1967
32 David Reilly Crosshouse Morris 1000 Fire Engine 1968
33 Iain Wright Glasgow MGB 1969
34 James T Walker Livingston Rover P5B 1970
35 Cairns Galbraith Fairlie Rover P5B Coupé 1970
36 Jim Simpson Airdrie Morris Traveller 1971
37 Mr and Mrs Fulton Beaton Ayr Porsche 356 Speedster Replica 1971
38 Ian and Michelle Caldwell Clarkston MGB Roadster 1972
39 Stewart Ross West Kilbride Ferrari Dino 246 GT 1972
40 Edward Redman Killearn Jaguar E Type 1972
41 Bobby McNiven Alexandria MGB 1972
42 Robbie Stewart Langbank MGB 1974
43 John Mellon Torrance Ford Escort RS 2000 1974
44 Graham S Runcieman Bearsden Lotus 7 1975
45 John Baird Hamilton Mercedes 250 Compact 1975
46 Robbie Bulloch Strachur Ford Escort Mk 2 1978
47 James Meggat Paisley Chrysler Sunbeam 1978
48 George Ferguson Mauchline Triumph Dolomite Sprint 1978
49 Sarah Forbes Dundee VW Beetle Karmann Ghia 1978
50 Alan Johnston Helensburgh MGB 1980
51 Roy and Georgie Allingham Stonehouse Triumph TR7 DHC 1981
52 Stephen Rowan Glasgow Porsche 928 S4 1989
53 Dougie Nicolson Dundee Jaguar XJ8 1997
54 Blair Colquhoun Dundee Jaguar XKR 1998
55 Mike McCormick Dundee Jaguar S Type 2004

The date for the 2014 Three Lochs Classic has been confirmed as 16 August 2014. This is a changed to the original date of 17th August due to a date clash.

This event will again be based at the Royal Northern Yacht Club in Rhu, near Helensburgh. Participants will set off on a choice of routes taking in the Three Lochs of Loch Lomond, Loch Long, and the Gairloch. The participants will also have the opportunity to drive up the recently resurfaced original Rest and Be Thankful road.

Entry is open to all vehicles up to 1982.

Regulations and Entry Forms are now available for download from here